Prestigious TMS Awards to two CREST Undergraduate Students PDF Print E-mail
Written by Marcelo Suarez   
Friday, 04 March 2011 11:08

During the 2011 Annual Meeting of The Minerals Metals & Materials Society (TMS) held in San Diego, Roberto Manzano and Nayomi Plaza, CREST undergraduate students, received prestigious TMS awards.

Roberto won the First Prize by TMS Light Metals Division for his poster titled "A Comparative Study of Centrifuged Al-Si/AlB2 and Al-Si/AlB12 Composites." There are five Divisions in TMS and in each one, graduate and undergraduate students compete in two different categories. According to TMS website, "2010 TMS President George T. "Rusty" Gray III and 2011 TMS President Garry Warren served as judges." Roberto, a Mechanical Engineering senior, also received the "Best of Show" ribbon for his poster. This is the very first time that a UPR student has received this honor.



Roberto's work was mentored by CREST graduate student, Glorimar Ramos who is graduating with an MS in Mechanical Engineering, supervised by Dr. O. M. Suárez. The poster was based on the mechanical and nanomechanical characterization of Al-based composites. A key part of the research was the Agilent G200 Nanoindenter system, that was acquired via a grant led by Dr. Agnes Padovani (NSF Award No. DMR 0922994).

Roberto Manzano and his Best of Show ribbon

During the same conference on March 2, 2011, TMS Light Metals Division (LMD) held its Awards Luncheon when they honored top contributors to the Division and outstanding students who have worked on topics related to the goals of the Division. One of the three winners of the prestigious  2011 LMD Scholarships was Nayomi Plaza, a graduating UPRM senior student and CREST participant. Nayomi joined Dr. O. M. Suárez's research group, at age 16 to work on her Science Fair project about low-cycle fatigue of Al-Mg alloys. Along her College years she has received several awards and honors. For instance, twice in a row her research work won First Prizes during the TMS poster competitions in 2009 and 2010 (Structural Materials Division). After her early graduation in December of this year, Nayomi intends to pursue a doctoral degree in Materials Science.

Dr. John N. Hry gives the 2011 LMD Scholarship to Nayomi Plaza

Last Updated on Wednesday, 16 March 2011 17:03
NSF Logo

NCBEDSA is a National Science Foundation (NSF) Center for Research Excellence in Science and Technology (CREST) at the University of Puerto Rico at Mayagüez
University of Puerto Rico-Mayagüez